Tags

“Are you okay?”

“Yes, Mom”

That’s how conversations go around my house. Empty, devoid, always hiding things beneath the surface. 

“Get off my back, just leave me alone, forever” I shout…

inside my head, my mouth has stopped working, simply clamped by the weight of these words. Wow, having such caring parents can really be a pain in the rear. I feel like I can never make a mistake, never explore, never take a step for myself.

I always feel like I’m fighting inside I can almost hear a conversation between myself.

“You know your mom only cares about you right?”

“Yeah but why can’t she respect my own independence. It feels like I’m being treated like a kid all the time its so irritating, I feel like the only thing I can really do to let me grow up on my own is to block her out.”

“You can’t just shut your parents out of your lives you know?”

“What else can I do? I’m feel locked in a cell right now, I know I should just suck it up and let this go by because this is the last year I will be living here, but still I want to learn on my own, and stand by myself without the help of others.”

This was a challenge to integrate dialogue into a story of some sort. Read more at http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/16/writing-challenge-dialogue/#more-37229 

